Skip to content

25th International WDR Europaforum 2023


Supporting Ukraine against Russia’s aggression is just one of the new challenges Europe is facing. The ‘Zeitenwende’, or turn of the times, has thoroughly changed framework conditions for all major tasks of the EU.

Manon Aubry

The Left Group in the European Parliament – GUE/NGL, MEP

Dietmar Bartsch

Co-Chairman of the parliamentary group DIE LINKE in the German Bundestag

Alexander Bernhuber

Group of the European People‘s Party (Christian Democrats) – EPP, MEP

Tom Buhrow

Director General of Westdeutscher Rundfunk

Delara Burkhardt

Group of the Progressive Alliance of Socialists & Democrats in the European Parliament – S&D, MEP

Prof. Dr. Belachew Gebrewold

Professor of International Relations at the Management Center Innsbruck

Thomas Haldenwang

Director General of the German domestic intelligence services

Kira Marie Peter-Hansen

Group of the Greens/European Free Alliance – EFA, MEP

Othma Karas

First Vice-President of the European Parliament, EPP

Susanne Koelbl

Foreign correspondent DER SPIEGEL

Prof. Dr. Dres. h.c. Juliane Kokott

Advocate General at the Court of Justice of the European Union

Dr. Ursula von der Leyen

President of the European Commission

Dr. Anna Lührmann

Minister of State for Europe and Climate at the Federal Foreign Office, Alliance 90/The Greens

Sergey Lukashevsky

Director of the Moscow Sakharov Centre for Human Rights

Dr. Bijan Moini

Head of Legal of the Society for Civil Rights, Author

Johan Nissinen

Group of European Conservatives and Reformers – ECR, MEP

Aydan Özoguz

Vice-President of the German Bundestag, SPD

Georg Pfeifer

Head of the Representation of the European Parliament in Germany

Prof. Shubha Kamala Prasad

Assistant Professor of International Relations at Hertie School Berlin

Nataliya Pryhornytska

Political scientist, host of the „UkraineMEMO“ podcast, Co-Founder of the Alliance of Ukrainian Organisations

Olaf Scholz

Federal Chancellor

Prof. Dr. Daniela Schwarzer

Member of the Executive Board of the Bertelsmann Foundation

Dr. Linn Selle

President of the European Movement Germany

Dr. Angela Stanzel

Sinologist, Stiftung Wissenschaft und Politik (German Institute for International and Security Affairs)

Dr. Frank-Walter Steinmeier

Federal President

Emma Wiesner

Renew Europe Group, MEP

Dr. Jörg Wojahn

Head of the Representation of the European Commission in Germany


Ute Brucker

Head of the Department for Foreign Affairs/Europe, Südwestrundfunk

Ellen Ehni

Editor-in-Chief Politics and Current Affairs, WDR

Tina Hassel

Head of the ARD Capital Studio Berlin

Eva Lindenau

Programme Director phoenix

Stefan Niemann

Foreign Department Norddeutscher Rundfunk

Markus Preiß

Head of ARD-Europastudio Brussels

Sabine Scholt

Head of Domestic and International Affairs, WDR