Skip to content

23rd International WDR Europaforum 2021

Emancipation in times of crisis –
Europe’s road to greater autonomy

A difficult present is obscuring our view of a European future. The goals and principles of the European Union require a commitment that is constantly reaffirmed.

The Westdeutsche Rundfunk has been hosting the WDR Europaforum since 1997. At the forum, the heads and ministers of national governments meet with leading representatives from EU institutions, political parties, think tanks or civil society organisations. In light of current developments in each respective year, the forum examines the prospects of the historical European project – which has come a long way, but is far from complete.

European integration is, more than ever before, a task spanning generations. Reporting on this integration in an engaged yet critical manner is part of the job of public service broadcasters. After all, democracy, the rule of law and open-mindedness, the binding principles of life together on our continent, are hardly unshakeable, fixed accomplishments. They must be constantly affirmed and reinforced by civil society. The WDR Europaforum, broadcast on TV, radio and over the internet, contributes to these efforts.   

For over twenty years, the WDR Europaforum has established itself as a renowned platform for reviewing European politics and producing European ideas – not just in Germany. 

Participants have included German, Austrian, Polish and Slovenian heads of state and government, presidents of the European Council, the European Commission and the European Parliament, ministers, commissioners, parliamentarians and prominent scientists and authors.

The European Commission and the European Parliament are WDR Europaforum partners. Media partners include, among others, ARD/Das Erste, Westdeutscher Rundfunk (WDR), Norddeutscher Rundfunk (NDR), Südwestrundfunk (SWR), Deutsche Welle (DW), the current affairs and documentary channel phoenix, and Österreichischer Rundfunk (ORF). Several TV channels and internet platforms offer a live broadcast of the forum.

The 23rd edition of the WDR Europaforum had to be cancelled in 2020 due to the coronavirus pandemic. This year the forum took place on Thursday, 20 May 2021 as a hybrid conference in Berlin, Cologne an Brussels; some participants were on site and some attended virtually.

WDR Europaforum - Best Of

Play Video

The broadcast from May 20, 2021 can be viewed in the ARD media library.

The 23rd WDR Europaforum has been broadcast live on WDR television and shown online via live stream.

Europaforum

The European Project in Challenging Times – Taking Stock and Strategies for Upholding an Ambitious Idea

Programme

Europe needs more autonomy – the calls are getting louder, but is autonomy really the ideal path out of these crises?

Participants

Chancellor, Candidates, Experts – German politics meets European political expertise at the WDR Europaforum.

Skip to content

23. Internationales WDR Europaforum 2021

Emanzipation im Krisenkontext –
Europas Weg zu mehr Eigenständigkeit

Bei den Überlegungen zur europäischen Zukunft kommt viel sperrige Gegenwart in den Blick. Wie die Ziele bedürfen auch die Fundamente der Europäischen Union eines sich ständig erneuernden Engagements.

Seit 1997 richtet der Westdeutsche Rundfunk das WDR Europaforum aus. Dazu treffen sich Chef*innen und Minister*innen nationaler Regierungen mit führenden Vertreter*innen von EU-Institutionen, Parteien, Think Tanks oder zivilgesellschaftlichen Organisationen. Vor dem Hintergrund der jeweils aktuellen Entwicklungen geht es um die Perspektiven des – beachtlich fortgeschrittenen, aber längst nicht vollendeten – historischen Projekts Europa.

Die europäische Integration ist mehr denn je eine generationsübergreifende Aufgabe. Sie engagiert, aber auch kritisch zu begleiten, gehört zum Auftrag des Öffentlich-Rechtlichen Rundfunks. Denn Demokratie, Rechtsstaat und Weltoffenheit als verbindliche Fundamente des Zusammenlebens auf unserem Kontinent sind keine unerschütterlich gegebenen Errungenschaften. Sie bedürfen stets auf Neue der Bekräftigung und Stärkung durch die Bürgergesellschaft. Dazu leistet das WDR Europaforum, ausgestrahlt im Fernsehen, Hörfunk und Internet, seinen Beitrag.   

Mit einer über zwanzigjährigen Tradition hat sich das WDR Europaforum– nicht nur aus deutschem Blickwinkel – als eine renommierte Adresse europapolitischer Bestandsaufnahme und Ideenproduktion etabliert. 

Mitgewirkt haben unter anderem Staats- und Regierungschef*innen aus Deutschland, Österreich, Polen und Slowenien, die Präsident*innen des Europäischen Rates, der EU-Kommission und des Europaparlaments, Minister*innen, Kommissar*innen und Abgeordnete sowie prominente Wissenschaftler*innen und Autor*innen.

Kooperationspartner des WDR Europaforums sind die Europäische Kommission und das Europaparlament. Als Medienpartner sind unter anderem die ARD/Das Erste, der Westdeutsche Rundfunk (WDR), der Norddeutsche Rundfunk (NDR), der Südwestrundfunk (SWR), die Deutsche Welle (DW), der Ereignis- und Dokumentationskanal phoenix und der Österreichische Rundfunk (ORF) beteiligt. Mehrere TV-Sender und Internet-Plattformen übertragen die Tagung live.

Nachdem 2020 die 23. Auflage des WDR Europaforums wegen der Corona-Pandemie ausfallen musste, wurde das Forum dieses Jahr am 20. Mai als hybride Konferenz in Köln, Berlin und Brüssel organisiert, mit vor Ort anwesenden und zugeschalteten Teilnehmenden.

WDR Europaforum - Best Of

Video abspielen

Die Sendung vom 20. Mai 2021 kann in der ARD-Mediathek abgerufen werden.

Das 23. WDR Europaforum wurde live im WDR-Fernsehen übertragen und online im Livestream gezeigt.

Europaforum 2021

Das europäische Projekt in schweren Zeiten – Bestandsaufnahme und Konzepte für die Behauptung einer großen Idee.

Programm

Europa braucht mehr Eigenständigkeit – der Ruf wird lauter, aber ist das der Königsweg zur Bewältigung der Krisen?

Teilnehmende

Kanzlerin, Kandidat*innen, Kompetente – beim WDR-Europaforum trifft deutsche Politik auf europapolitischen Sachverstand.